Symphony No. 40 - Mozart - Revision

  • Created by: Lottie97
  • Created on: 30-03-13 18:24
View mindmap
  • Symphony No.40 in G minor, Movement 1 - Mozart
    • Structure
      • The movement is in Sonata form - Exposition, Development and Recapitulation
    • Tonality and Harmony
      • Starts in G minor and the second subject modulates to B flat major (the relative major)
      • Harmony is diatonic
      • A perfect cadence is used at the end
    • Melody
      • The exposition contains two themes known as the 1st and 2nd subjects with a transition in between
      • The first subject is played by the violins and starts with an anacrusis
      • The second subject is shared by the violins and the woodwind.
    • Texture
      • Strings (2 violins, cello, double bass), plus 2 horns ( one in G and one in B flat),2 bassoons, 2 clarinets, 2 oboes and flute
      • In the 1st subject the violins play the tune in octaves
      • The texture is thicker at the cadences
      • Mostly homophonic (melody dominated homophony).
      • Counterpoint with overlapping melody in the development section.
    • Dynamics
      • Use of terraced dynamics
      • 1st subject feels louder because of the thicker texture
      • The second subject is marked piano.
    • Use of Instruments
      • The horns are used to thicken the cadences.
      • They are in strange keys to give Mozart access to the notes that he wanted.
      • The clarinet was new in Mozart's time.
    • Written in 1788
    • Classical era


No comments have yet been made

Similar Music resources:

See all Music resources »See all Mozart resources »