Piaget's stages of cognitive development

View mindmap
  • Piaget's stages of cognitive development
    • Sensorimotor: birth–2 years
      • Infants think by interacting with the world using their eyes, ears, hands and mouth. As a result, the infant invents ways of solving problems  Piaget believed that a baby would not have a way of remembering and thinking about the world until they were about 18 months old.
    • Preoperational:  2–7 years
      • Children use symbols to represent their earlier sensorimotor discoveries. Development of language and make-believe play takes place. Piaget believed that children at this stage cannot properly understand how ideas like number, mass and volume really work. A child might be able to count to 100 but might not understand what a set of 10 really means.
    • Concrete operational:  7–11 years
      • Children's reasoning becomes logical providing the issues are concrete. Children may be able to understand simple logical principles.
    • Formal operational 11-18 years
      • This is when the capacity for abstract thinking allows adolescents to reason through symbols that do not refer to the real world .


No comments have yet been made

Similar Health & Social Care resources:

See all Health & Social Care resources »See all Human Lifespan and Development resources »