Mozart ~ 1st movement from symphony no. 40 in G minor 1788.

HideShow resource information
View mindmap
  • Mozart ~ 1st movement from symphony no. 40 in G minor 1788.
    • Structure
      • Exposition
        • 1st subject ~ G minor, uses mostly crotchets and quavers.
        • 2nd subject ~ B flat major (relative major) longer sustained notes. Shared between strings and woodwind.
      • Development ~ modulates to different keys and develops 1st and 2nd subjects.
      • Recapitulation ~ returns to 1st and 2nd subject of the exposition, but with 2nd subject in G minor.
      • 1st and 2nd subject, linked by bride passage, to modulate from G minor - B flat.
    • Texture
      • Middle section has more chordal section.
      • Loud sections texture is thickened by octave doubling in both hands, resulting in 6 not chords.
      • Apart from 2 monophonic bars at start of coda. HOMOPHONIC.
      • In section B, pedal note is inverted (goes to right hand) and the melody and bass are both low in left hand.
    • Tonality and harmony
      • D flat major.
      • Tonality defined by regular imperfect and perfect cadences and dominant pedal.
      • Section A ends with imperfect cadence to prepare for middle section.
      • Section B is in the tonic minor, notated as C sharp minor.
      • Loudest part of B section, suggests a move to E major, returns to D flat major.
    • Dynamics
      • First subject
        • Marked very fast (molto allegro)
        • Piano (p)
        • Dark intense mood
      • Second subject
        • Lyrical and relaxed mood
        • Bars 62+63 have a lot of crescendos.
      • Codetta ~ bars 70+71 are marked piano (p).
    • Melody
      • Right hand melody is lyrical and cantabile and supported by steady left hand quavers.
      • Includes dotted rhythms, gentle syncopation, occasional chromaticism and ornamentation. (acciaccaturas, grace notes, septuplets, etc)
      • New melody in coda starts unaccompanied and than moves to inner part before final cadence.
      • The melody in section B has a narrow range and consists mainly of crotchets and longer notes in the bass, while quaver pedal transfers to the right hand.


Miles Spencer


why is the piece called 'in G minor' but this mindmap says its in D flat major ? 

Ziming Zhu


A bit mixed up between the Prelude in Db major and the Symphony in G minor perhaps?

Samuel Richardson


A brilliant mindmap on Mozart's 'Symphony No. 40 in G Minor'. Good explantions and descriptions are included and all the essential categories of analysis are covered. 

Similar Music resources:

See all Music resources »See all Mozart resources »