menstrual cycle

HideShow resource information
View mindmap
  • Menstrual cycle
    • the cycle has 4 stages
      • stage 1day one the bleeding starts and the uterus lining breaks down over about 4 days
        • stage 2 - the lining of the uterus builds up again - from day 4 to 14 into a thick spongy layer full of blood vessels ready to receive a fertilised egg
          • stage3 - an egg is released from the ovary at say 14
            • stage 4 - the wall is then maintained for about 14 days until day 28 - if no fertiliased egg has landed on the uterus wall by day 28 the spongy lining breaks down again and the process restarts
    • hormones control the different stages. There are 3 main hormones involved:
      • 1. FSH - (follicle stimulating hormone) ; produced by the pituitary gland. causes an egg to mature in one of the ovaries. stimulates the ovaries to produce estrogen.
        • 2. estrogen; produced in the ovaries causes pituatary to produce LH. in hibits further release of SLH.
          • 3. LH - (Luteinising Hormone) ; produced by the pituatary gland. stimulates the release of an egg at around the middle of the menstrual cycle.


No comments have yet been made

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »See all Nervous system, hormones and behaviour resources »