HideShow resource information
View mindmap
  • Meiosis
    • Only reproductive organ cells are divided by using meiosis to form sperm or egg cells, gametes.
    • During reproduction an egg and a sperm combine to form a new cell, called a zygote.
    • When the egg and sperm combine the zygote will contain 46 chromosomes
    • Before the cells divide, it copies the DNA, each arm are the exact same
      • Chromosome pairs line up in the centre of the cell and are then pulled apart.
        • Then the chromosomes line up in the centre of the cell again, the arms of the chromosome are then pulled.
          • We get four gametes each with only a single set of chromosomes in it.


No comments have yet been made

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »See all Cells, tissues and organs resources »