HM prison service - a government sponsored agency

View mindmap
  • HM prison service
    • Prisons have a number of different fuctions alongside keeping those sentenced in custody.
      • the prison service also tries to help people to live law abiding lives, both when they are in prison and when they are released. the service works with the courts, police, and local councils as well as voluntary organisations. It works on rehabilitation.
    • Between 2010-11 and 2014-15 the prison services budget reduced by around 20% and despite increases since then, these have been almost entirely cancelled out by the effects of inflation.
      • Most prisons are government funded with finances raised through taxes. Taxpayers in England and Wales pay more on average for prisons than other major countries in western europe.
    • The cost of a prison place reduced by 19% in real terms between 2009-10 and 2017-18. the average annual cost of a prison place in England and Wales is now £40,843
      • In 2015 the average cost of keeping a prisoner was £36,000 anually.
    • there are some private prisons that are run by a third party that has a contract with the governement, these are likely prisons with worse conditions as the prison is a company
      • 109 of 123 prisons in the UK are run by the HM prison service and are run on the national offender management service. there are however, 14 private prisons for example HMP Birmingham, which are contracted to the private security comany G4S
    • Prisons are divided into categories depending on the level of security required to oversee the prisoners: category A, high risk/ maximum security. category B, high risk to others. category C, lower risk but not trusted in open conditons. category D, very low risk to others and due for release soon, known as open prisons
      • An example of a category A prison would be HPM Frankland. Category B, HMP Nottingham, Category C, HMP Dartmoor, Category D, HMP Ford.
    • Prisoners are allowed certain priviliges depending on their behaviour, the level of privilige is first set at basic, standard or enhanced then depending on good or bad behaviour priviliges can be given or taken away. All prisoners start at basic and try to make their way up.
      • Prisoners also need to prove themselves to staffto move up the levels. Each level gives you certain rights and activities. For example if you are on basic level you are not allowed a tv in your room and you have to eat meals in your cell. if you are on enhanced level you are allowed more time in the gym, more time out of your room and have more access to visits.


No comments have yet been made

Similar Criminology resources:

See all Criminology resources »See all HM prison service - unit 4 - AC.3.1 resources »