History Cold War (Part1)

HideShow resource information
View mindmap
  • Cold War
    • The Yalta Conference February 1945
      • THE BIG THREE met at Yalta, Ukraine.
        • Stalin, USSR
        • Roosevelt, USA
        • Churchill, GBR
      • Agreements
        • Stalin agreed to enter war against Japan once Germany surrendered.
        • Germany would be divided into 4 zones: America, French, British and Soviet
          • Berlin was also divided into four zones.
        • The Big Three agreed to hunt down and punish war criminals who were responsible for genocide.
        • Allowed to hold free elections to choose they government they wanted.
        • All joined the United Nations Organisations (keep peace after war)
        • Border of the USSR moves westwards into Poland
          • Churchill didn't agree but he knew Stalins Red Army was in total control. Churchill convinced Roosevelt to accept it, to prevent communists taking over.
    • USA, capitalist democracy
      • Privately owned businesses.
      • Right of the individual was more important
    • USSR, communist democracy
      • Everything was state owned.
      • Aim to create equality
      • People could only vote for Russia.
    • The Potsdam Conference July 1945
      • Held in Potsdam, outside Berlin.
      • What happened?
        • Germany was divided into four zones
        • Berline was divided into four sections
        • Nazi Party would be dissolved, war criminals were punished.
        • Free elections in Germany, freedom of speech.
        • Germany would pay reparations for damage of war. Most of this to USSR.
        • All Allies agreed to take part in the United Nations.


No comments have yet been made

Similar History resources:

See all History resources »See all The Cold War resources »