• Created by: Labake
  • Created on: 17-05-14 13:46
View mindmap
  • Classification
    • Keywords
      • Morphology- the physical appearance of an organism
      • Taxonomy- classification of living organisma
      • Homologous features- morphological trait shard by different organisma
      • Classification- categorisng natural objects
      • Taxon- the hierarchical groups used in classification
        • 7 levels of classification (KPCOFGS) Genus and species = binomial name of organism
        • 5 kingdoms
          • Fungi
            • Eukaryotic, non cellulose cell wall, no chloroplasts or photosynthesis, organelles and nuclear envelope, HETEROTRO-PHIC
          • Animal
            • Eukaryotic, multicellular, true nuclues, no cell wall or chloroplast- HETEROTRO-PHIC (energy from organic molecules)
          • Prokaryote
            • No true nucleus or nuclear envelope, no membrane bound organelles, smaller ribosomes, peptidoglycan cell wall, plasmid (small circular DNA molecule)
          • Plant
            • Eukaryotic, multicellular, organelles etc same as animal but with cellulose cell wall and chloroplasts, AUTOTROPH-IC (energy from combining light energy with CO2 for sugar in photosynth..)
          • Protoctist
            • Eukaryotic, single celled, HET/AUTOTR-OPHIC like plant and animal variable features
        • To avoid convergent evolution (classifying organisms with irrelevant homologous features) we have 3 DOMAINS, comparing organisma DNA instead of morphology
          • Bacteria- no nucleus
          • Archaea (bacteria like), cell membrane, flagella, extreme environments, transcription+ translation
          • Eukarya (animals, plants, fungi)


No comments have yet been made

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »See all DNA, genetics and evolution resources »